Enjoy These Five New Singles by Women Musicians

As quarantine trudges into the summer months, many artists have been continuing to release new music. Recently, several new singles have come out; here are five of the best songs (coincidentally all by awesome women artists) that you need to check out!

  1. “I See You” by Phoebe Bridgers

Indie singer-songwriter, Phoebe Bridgers, dropped her newest single, “I See You,” on May 19. Her new album, Punisher, is set to release on June 19. “I See You” is a song in which Bridgers recalls her breakup with the drummer in her band, Marshall Vore, who co-wrote the song and plays drums on it. If you’re a fan of Bridgers’ previous discography, be sure to check out her new album, Punisher, once it is released next month.

  1. 19” by Madisenxoxo

Up-and-coming alternative singer-songwriter, Madisenxoxo, has been blowing up on TikTok and Spotify. Her newest single, “19,” has the same well-crafted songwriting as her previous single “Baby in Blue,” with a slightly more uplifting mood to the song. If you’re a fan of artists like Clairo or Soccer Mommy, Madisenxoxo is an artist who should definitely be on your radar. 

  1. “Rain On Me (with Ariana Grande)” by Lady Gaga feat. Ariana Grande

Lady Gaga is joined by fellow pop icon, Ariana Grande, in the second and newest single off of her upcoming album, Chromatica. The album drops tomorrow, May 29, and will be Gaga’s sixth studio album. Fans have been long awaiting a new album, since the 2016 country-pop album, Joanne. “Rain On Me (with Ariana Grande)” is a pop dance anthem that is sure to be the soundtrack to summer 2020.

  1. “Don’t Wanna” by Haim

The alternative band of sisters, Haim, is back with their newest single, “Don’t Wanna,” from their upcoming album. Women in Music Pt. III is set to come out on June 26. In this song, the band channels the sound of their first album, Days Are Gone, from 2013. The bassline in the chorus of “Don’t Wanna” has a familiarity to it which fans of that album are definitely going to enjoy. After releasing three songs and three bonus tracks from the upcoming album, Haim listeners are excited to hear what’s in store on the new album.

  1. “I Think You’re Alright” by Soccer Mommy

Indie singer-songwriter, Soccer Mommy, launched a project called “Soccer Mommy & Friends Singles Series” in which she has asked four musician friends to swap songs, covering each other’s music. In the first installment, which was released on May 21, Soccer Mommy was joined by singer Jay Som. Soccer Mommy covered Jay Som’s “I Think You’re Alright,” while Jay Som covered Soccer Mommy’s song “lucy.” Every two weeks, Soccer Mommy will be releasing more additions of her Singles Series and will be joined by Beabadoobee, Andrew VanWyngarden, and Beach Bunny. Soccer Mommy is releasing her singles series as an album once all of the additions are released. All profits from Bandcamp sales of the “Soccer Mommy & Friends Singles Series” album will be donated to Oxfam’s COVID-19 relief fund.

Marissa Bachrach

I am a recent grad from Indiana University Bloomington. My B.A. is in Journalism and with a specialization in strategic communications and public relations. I love music but my favorite genres are alternative, rap, and R&B.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button