Zeds Dead Introduces First Deadbeats Compilation Album

Friday, Feb. 10 was a monumental day for Dylan Mamid and Zachary Rapp-Rovan, better known to fans as Zeds Dead.  The electronic music duo released their highly-anticipated first compilation album, “Deadbeats Compilation Vol. 1”, under their record label, Deadbeats.

The duo hails from Toronto and started producing music together under the name “Zeds Dead” in 2009.  Fast-forward eight years later, Zeds Dead has become a nationally known name in the Electronic Dance Music [EDM] community.

Mamid and Rapp-Rovan took producing a step further and announced the launch of their own record label, Deadbeats, on March 1, 2016.

The compilation album features nine tracks from artists of different genres.  The amount of variation featured on this album is a smart move by Mamid and Rapp-Rovan as it may reach a greater audience.  Being a featured artist on this compilation is great exposure for lesser-known artists on the album.  Kid Froopy, one of the lesser-known artists, starts off the album with his song, “Show Me”.  According to a post on his Facebook page, Kid Froopy said, “When I started writing this song I wasn’t sure where it was going.  It moves through different moods and ends up in a very different place from where it started.  The vocal starts with a question and it never really gets answered”.  This track starts off the album with an inspired sound and helps to set the tone for the rest of the tracks.

Throughout the album fans are graced with heavy-hitting tracks by Rezz and Megalodon, and softer sounds by Blount and Nebbra (ft. Mike Sabath).

One track which stands out is “Raging Dreams” by Memorecks’.  It is the perfect combination of chill and bass and a great ending to a phenomenal album.

Mamid and Rapp-Rovan surprised fans by including an unreleased track, “Woman Wine”, on the album.  A cork is popped and what one can only assume is wine being poured starts off the track before delving into a robotic voice saying “Woman Wine” which then transitions into a heavy-hitting bass drop that Zeds Dead is notorious for.

Zeds Dead set the bar high for themselves with the release of this first compilation album and fans are excited to see what the duo releases next.


1.  “Show Me” – Kid Froopy

2.  “Matrix” – Rezz

3.  “Mayweather” – Pusher (ft. Heckz)

4.  “Woman Wine” – Zeds Dead

5.  “You” – Nebbra (ft. Mike Sabath)

6.  “By My Side” – SMLE

7.  “Softly” – Blount

8.  “Watch This Bounce” – Megalodon

9.  “Raging Dreams” – Memorecks

Erin Riedl

Hi I'm Erin. I'm a small human who enjoys yoga, coffee, and all things music.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button