April Will Shower Us With New Albums

The month of April is associated with the saying, “April showers bring May flowers,” but I’m here to tell you that April won’t just bring down some water from the clouds– it will rain album releases.

The first Friday of April will yield 11 album releases.


1. Arizona artist, Alec Benjamin, will release These Two Windows. Currently, two singles off his new 10 track album are out: “Demons” and “Oh My God.” Check out his latest music video for “Oh My God” down below to get a taste of his contribution to the indie-pop genre. Another single from the album, “The Book of You and I,” was released 3/5. For more information about the artist, check out his website here.

Alec Benjamin’s latest single, “Oh My God,” off his new album These Two Windows.

2. Another band dropping a new album on the third is All Time Low. Wake Up Sunshine will be their eighth studio album since the band formed in 2003. Check out a review of the latest single, “Some Kind of Disaster” off their new album here.

3. Dua Lipa will release her sophomore album on the third as well. This new album is coming three years after her debut self-titled album. Future Nostalgia will have 11 tracks and be available via CD, LP, cassette, digital download, and streaming. The latest single from Future Nostalgia dropped on January 31; watch the music video down below to hear the newest pop sound from Dua Lipa.

Dua Lipa’s latest single, Physical, off her new album Future Nostalgia.


The Strokes will be releasing The New Abnormal on the second Friday of April. It is safe to say it has been a hot minute since the band last released an album because their fifth studio album, Comedown Machine, was released in 2013. Two of the nine tracks on the album have been released. The latest single, “Bad Decisions,” features Billy Idol and Tony James in the song.


The third Friday of April brings the debut album, Earth, from Ed O’Brien, stylized as EOB. O’Brien plays guitar in the band Radiohead and sings backing vocals. The nine tracks on the album create a total album time one second shy of 46 minutes. Listen to O’Brien’s smooth vocals and boppy beat down below in his second single, “Shangri-La” off the new album.

EOB’s latest single “Shangri-La” from his debut album Earth. Shangri-La is a fictional city from James Hilton’s 1933 novel “Lost Horizon.”


The 1975 will drop Notes on a Conditional Form on the last Friday of April. The album will contain 22 tracks and the band is currently on a tour supporting the album that will come to an end in November. To get a feel for their latest sound, give the song below a listen to see how the band’s sound has matured since their debut album in 2013.

The fourth single from the 1975’s latest album. The music video aired Feb. 19 and was directed by Ben Ditto.

By the end of April, over 25 albums will have been released into the world. Hopefully, all these releases will bring a little sunshine into your rainy April and brighten your days.

Sarah Roberts

Just a music lover, concert goer, book reader, cookie eater college student on a never-ending pursuit of discovery.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button